Claire Keegan collects Davy Byrne’s Award

Irish novelist Claire Keegan has won €25,000 the Davy Byrne’s Award at the eponymous Dublin pub that James Joyce made famous in Ulysses.

Keegan’s short story, Foster, was chosen from a list of six by Richard Ford, the American novelist. As Ford was not present, The Irish Times literary editor Caroline Walsh recited Ford’s speech praising Keegan’s gift for writing.

Organised by The Stinging Fly Press, administered by Declan Meade, in association with The Irish Times, and sponsored by Davy Byrne’s, Walsh presented the award to Keegan.

The runners-up, Mary Leland, Molly McCloskey, Eoin McNamee, and Susan Stairs each collected €1,000. The competition attracted over eight hundred entries, and was longlisted to thirty for Ford to adjudicate.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s